My Personal Experience of PMDC Exam (2007)

drwatson

CEO
Administrator
Global Moderator
Hi every one, Just started this forum section and giving it a kick start by posting my own personal experience with PMDC exams. It might be very different for you.

I graduated in July 2006 and then came back to Pakistan in August 2006. There was PMDC exam at end of september 2006 but I skipped that exam so that i could prepare.

I was living in my village after graduation, and i used to take histories of any patient in my family. I wrote down those histories and studied the cases from books, made differential diagnosis of those patients by my self and studied each differential diagnosis. The book I used the most is CMDT (Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment). It has nice explanations of related physiology, pathophysiology, pathology, pharmacology, to the point and just related to the disease. I read other reference books if i wanted to study what my mind had forgotten about. I got help from a computer software (i forgot its name but it takes patients history if you input any complaint in it) to polish my history taking skills and diagnosing skills.
Later, I started advising investigations and medicines to acute problems of patients, and i used pharma guide book for that. It has all the pharmacological literature related to the drug, but to the point and brief.
Then came the time for PMDC Exam. It was in march or april 2007. I did a short observer-ship of about 2 months in Poly clinic Hospital before the exam to keep in touch with hospital environment as in PMDC exam practical part, you need to show a professional approach towards patients while taking history or doing physical exam, in addition to your knowledge. This is very important in practical part of NEB Exam and just knowledge is not enough.
I didnt do basic subjects revision except when I thought I didnt have complete grasp of particular concept.